Print Email
Enter Title

Nine Local Governments were recognised for their progress in the local biodiversity conservation planning process at the 2014 Local Government Convention.  Hon Albert Jacobs, Minister for Environment; Heritage presented the Biodiversity Milestone Awards at this event on Wednesday, 6 August.


Four Local Governments received an award for adopting a final Local Biodiversity Strategy with an Action Plan; including the Cities of Greater Geraldton and Mandurah and the Shires of Chapman Valley and Murray.  The Shire of Mundaring was awarded for adopting a Local Planning Strategy and Local Planning Scheme Amendments that provide for local biodiversity conservation. The Shire of Chittering was recognised for releasing for public comment a Draft Local Planning Strategy with new provisions for local biodiversity conservation. The Shire of Serpentine-Jarrahdale received an award for adopting a detailed Local Biodiversity Action Plan. The Shires of Northam and Augusta-Margaret River were recognised for initial resource identification to develop a local biodiversity strategy.


For more information contact the Environment Policy Manager, Julia Beijeman on 9213 2039 or email to

Western Australian Local Government Association

ONE70, Level 1, 170 Railway Parade, West Leederville, WA 6007
PO Box 1544, West Perth WA 6872 | Tel: (08) 9321 5055 | Fax: (08) 9322 2611 | Email: